On A Wave

On A Wave

Book - 2002
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A disenchanted English professor decides on a whim one day to sneak off from his job in Manhattan and catch a wave off a dingy Queens shoreline. "On a Wave" is an unpretentious portrait of youth in the tradition of Tobias Wolff's "This Boy's Life" and Frank Conroy's "Stop-Time."
Publisher: New York : Atlantic Monthly Press, c2002.
ISBN: 9780871138453
087113845X
Characteristics: 259 p. ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
diesellibrarian Jul 17, 2012

Was drawn to this book because I love surfing and surf literature. The book stuck with me, though, for its pathos and authenticity. Very well written and beautifully paced. This candid autobiography is highly recommended for surfers and non-surfers alike. See also "Caught Inside: a Surfer's ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

diesellibrarian Jul 17, 2012

Was drawn to this book because I love surfing and surf literature. The book stuck with me, though, for its pathos and authenticity. Very well written and beautifully paced. This candid autobiography is highly recommended for surfers and non-surfers alike. See also "Caught Inside: a Surfer's Year on the California Coast."

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top