The Eagle's Conquest

The Eagle's Conquest

Book - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

THE EAGLE'S CONQUEST is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling historical novels: 'Gripping and moving' The Times

Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer.

And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined.

But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians...

Publisher: London, Eng. : Headline, 2001.
ISBN: 9780755349968
9780747272830
0747272832
9780312305345
0312305346
Characteristics: 310 p. :,ill., geneal. table, map ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
ba_library
Jan 19, 2017

Book 2 of Scarrow's Eagle series. Macro and Cato get their legion to England but there is a traitor in their camp and everyone seems to have a secret agenda! The Emperor Claudius is to arrive and lead the legions to victory over the fierce Britons, but there is a plot to assassinate the Emperor. The drama continues! The last sentence of the book and Macro wants to introduce Cato to a local gal he has met - her name is Boudicca. If you know anything about the Romans in Britain, you know about Boudicca! Great series, easy reading, not sure about the historical accuracy but the author is a historian and he adds plenty of exciting fiction to the tale.

m
merlinsilver
Dec 10, 2014

Excellent, fast paced, makes everything else seem slow and dull. Lots of action, good story line.

e
Eosos
Jun 05, 2014

Macro, Cato and Vespasian are back in another rousing adventure in Britain, 43AD.

This time Emperor Claudius shows up to lead the troops, Vespasian's wife is keeping secrets and Cato gets himself and Macro involved in the political intrigues of the emperors court.

There were enough battles, fights and intrigues to keep the book moving at a steady pace and keep my attention.

kevfarley Sep 19, 2012

Fleshes out a very thin record of the second Roman invasion of Britain in a creatively entertaining but reasonably accurate tale.
The politics and military detail are authentic. The sub-plots are imaginative amusement.

EuSei Aug 14, 2012

Book # 2

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top