The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
143
6
5
 …

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062799555
9780062678416
Characteristics: 427 pages ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
rubyred521
Jan 13, 2020

I didn’t think it started off that slow like other have mentioned. It will have you guessing until the very end. I loved this book!

k
Katie_Dublin
Jan 11, 2020

Good psychological thriller. As already mentioned, it is a bit slow. Although Anna's backstory was obvious early on, the final twist is surprising. Very well-written, the author fully immerses the reader in Anna's world. I wanted to read this before the movie was released, and I'm glad I did.

d
debbietaylor289
Jan 05, 2020

surprises

c
cakerocks
Dec 21, 2019

I can't believe this novel was well-reviewed. It's lite pop fiction at best. If you're looking for a book you can read on the beach while being distracted, then this might do it, but so many other books are significantly better, I recommend you pass on this title and find something that will really draw you in and keep you there.

d
dagny49
Dec 19, 2019

Movie with Amy Adams is coming out

a
Alex_198
Dec 19, 2019

I enjoyed the ride!

s
sunnyblonde
Dec 17, 2019

A great book that has you guessing until the end.

JCLCatherineG Nov 05, 2019

This had the potential to be a good psychological thriller but it failed miserably.

f
fragola
Nov 03, 2019

psichological thriller, like gone girl sort of shit.

l
llouise84
Oct 30, 2019

The last 100 pages take you on quite a ride. I agree with previous reviewers that the book was slow to start and slow throughout really, but seemed the author was trying to offer an idea and even a feeling of the main character's depression and sickness as an agoraphobic and alcoholic -- the monotony; how many times did I read the word "tumbler" referencing her pouring her many glasses of wine a day. The book's film references will have you wanting to go back and note them for later viewing.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

I must have said this out loud. 'What doesn't matter?' he asks. You, I think. I don't say it. Instead I hang up.

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
m
Mrs157
Jun 28, 2019

Mrs157 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

j
jessebraydon
Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top